IT Maintenance Windows and Freeze Dates | Webster University

IT Maintenance Windows and Freeze Dates

IT primarily uses the academic calendar to determine the best times for maintenance windows. Every effort is made to work around other university events scheduled during maintenance windows as well. If you are aware of an event that is scheduled during one of the maintenance windows below, please contact the IT Service Desk at support@webster.edu to let us know. 

Maintenance Windows

Maintenance windows are scheduled for necessary updates to Webster's hardware and software. The following maintenance windows have been determined based on critical business and academic dates. Maintenance windows typically begin at 10:00pm CST Friday and last through 3:00pm CST Sunday. During these windows, expect intermittent access or extended unavailability of systems as Information Technology upgrades and enhances Webster’s information systems. Announcements about the specific work and any associated outages that will occur during each window will be published in Webster Today the week of each window below.

Dates 
2020
Friday, June 12 - Sunday, June 14 Second week of SU 2020 UNDG, Third week of SU 2020 GRAD
Friday, July 10 - Sunday, July 12 Sixth week of SU 2020 UNDG, Seventh week of SU 2020 GRAD
Friday, October 2 - Sunday, October 4 Sixth week of FA 1 2020 UNDG, Seventh week of FA 1 2020 GRAD
Friday, November 27 - Sunday, November 29 Sixth week of FA 2 2020 courses (both UNDG and GRAD)
 2021
Friday, February 12 - Sunday, February 14 Fifth week of SP 1 2021 UNDG, Sixth week of SP 1 2021 GRAD 
Friday, April 16 - Sunday, April 18 Fifth week of SP 2 2021 courses (both UNDG and GRAD)


Critical Academic Dates

Freeze Dates are times considered critical to the ideal function of the University. Every attempt will be made to refrain from making system updates during these windows. However, change requests submitted for completion during these times will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.

Date  
2020
Monday, April 6 - Wednesday, April 8 FA 2020 UNDG Registration opens
(Seniors on 4/6, Juniors on 4/7, All on 4/8)
Monday, April 13  FA 2020 GRAD Registration opens
Sunday, May 3 – Sunday, May 10 SP/SP 2 2020 UNDG finals week
Saturday, May 9 Commencement
Sunday, May 10 - Sunday, May 17 SP 2 2020 GRAD finals week
Friday, May 26 - Sunday, June 7 First week of SU 2020 GRAD plus first week of SU 2020 UNDG courses (includes logon weekends)
Sunday, July 19 - Sunday, July 26 SU 2020 GRAD and UNDG finals week
Friday, August 14 - Sunday, August 30 First week of FA 1 2020 GRAD plus first week of FA/FA 1 2020 UNDG courses (includes logon weekends)
Sunday, October 11 - Sunday, October 25 FA 1 2020 GRAD and UNDG finals week; First week of FA 2 2020 GRAD plus first week of FA 2 2020 UNDG courses (includes logon weekend)

Monday, October 26 SP 2021 GRAD Registration opens
Monday, November 2 – Wednesday, November 4 SP 2021 UNDG Registration opens
(Seniors on 11/2, Juniors on 11/3, All on 11/4)
Sunday, December 6 - Sunday, December 13 FA/FA 2 2020 UNDG finals week
Sunday, December 13 - Sunday, December 20 FA 2 2020 GRAD finals week
 2021
Friday, January 1 - Sunday, January 17 First week of SP 1 2021 GRAD plus first week of SP/SP 1 2021 UNDG courses (includes logon weekends)
Tuesday, March 2 SU 2021 UNDG Registration opens

Thursday, March 4 SU 2021 GRAD Registration opens
Sunday, February 28 - Sunday, March 7 SP 1 2021 GRAD and UNDG finals week
Friday, March 12 - Sunday, March 21 First week of SP 2 2021 GRAD and UNDG courses (includes logon weekend)
Monday, April 5 – Wednesday April 7 FA 2021 UNDG Registration opens
(Seniors on 4/5, Juniors on 4/6, All on 4/7)
Monday, April 12 FA 2021 GRAD Registration opens
Sunday, May 2 - Sunday, May 9 SP/SP 2 2021 UNDG finals week
Saturday, May 8 Commencement
Sunday, May 9 - Sunday, May 16 SP 2 2021 GRAD finals week